Mizoram Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC)

The President


Lal Thanhawla

Lal Thanhawla, Mizoram Chief Minister

Shri Lal Thanhawla has been the Chief Minister of Mizoram since December 14, 2013. He successfully contested the 2013 Mizoram Assembly Election in Serchhip and Hrangturzo. His party, the Indian National Congress, resoundingly won that election with 34 MLAs.

Born in May 19, 1942, he is the son of Hmartawnphunga Sailo and Lalsawmliani Chawngthu. He completed his Matriculation in 1958, his Intermediate Arts in 1961 and his BA in 1964 from Aizawl. He currently resides in Zarkawt Veng, Aizawl.


Lal Thanhawla started his career as Recorder in the office of Inspector of Schools in the District Council. After that, he joined the Assam Co-operative Apex Bank as Assistant. In 1966, he joined the Mizo National Front as Secretary till 1967 when he joined the Indian National Congress party after he was released from jail in Silchar. In 1973 he was elected Party President of the INC Mizoram. In 1978 and 1979 he was elected as a Legislator in Union Territory Elections.

In 1984, under his Leadership, the Congress party swept the state elections and he became Chief Minister of Mizoram.

In 1986, when the Peace accord was signed between India and MNF, he gave up his Chief Ministership as party of the agreement to Pu Laldenga, and continued to serve as Chief Minister after being re-elected in the 1989 and 1993 Elections. He lost his MLA seat in 1998 but got it back in the 2003 & 2008 MLA elections from the same Constuency, Serchhip.

Again, he won the 2013 Mizoram Assembly Elections from both Serchhip and Hrangturzo Constituencies.

Games & Sports

A keen sportsman, he represented his High School, College, Mizoram and Assam in Football & Hockey. He also plays Badminton, Carrom, Volley ball, etc. He was founder-President, Mizoram Sports Association; Mizoram Football Association; Founder-President, Mizoram Hockey Association and founder – Secretary, Mizoram Boxing Association. Lal Thanhawla started Mizoram Olympic Association in Mizoram and is the President till date. In addition, he is also the Chairman, North East Olympic Commission (under Indian Olympic Association) Member, Executive Council, Indian Olympic Association and the founder – Secretary, Aijal Amateur Athletic Club.

He has led Indian delegation of Indian Sports Administrators to Kuwait City in ‘International Conference on Sports and the Environment.’ He has also led the Indian Wushu Team to Rome at International Wushu Competition and bagged 4 Gold, 5 Silver and Bronze medals. He has also represented the Indian Olympic Association in Singapore on ‘International Conference on Sports and Cultural Relations’ and also represented the Indian Olympic Association in the Olympics in 2004 at Athens.


  1. Was Founder-President, Mizoram Journalists Association. Was correspondent, The Assam Tribune.
  2. Was founder – Editor, Mizo Aw – Mizo vernacular daily. Was Editor of Congress Party daily ‘Remna Palai’.

Social Activities/Experience

  1. Started Young Mizo Association in Zarkawt Veng, Life Member, Central Young Mizo Association.
  2. Was Secretary, Central Information Forum.
  3. Was Founder-Secretary, Aizawl Dramatic & Cultural Society.
  4. Was Chairman, Literacy Committee, National Development Council, India.
  5. Was Vice President, Prohibition Council of India, New Delhi.
  6. Member, Congress Working Committee; and President, Mizoram Pradesh Congress Committee since 1973 till date.
  7. Was Member, 9th Finance Commission of lndia.
  8. Member, The Shillong Club Ltd. and Country Club of India, Hyderabad, New Delhi.
  9. Life Member, Evangelical Fellowship of India and Bible Society of India.

Political Activities

Lal Thanhawla joined the Indian National Congress in December, 1967.  Soon after, he was appointed Secretary, Mizo District Congress Committee and appointed General Secretary when Mizo District attained Union Territory and District Congress Committee was upgraded to Pradesh Congress Committee. He was first elected President, Mizoram Pradesh Congress Committee in 1973 and except for a brief period held the post to this day. When Mizoram was afflicted with insurgency for 20 years he initiated peace talk between the underground Mizo National Front and the Govt, of India. In order to usher in lasting peace and tranquility in Mizoram voluntarily offered his Chief Ministership to the underground leader.

Accordingly, Mizoram Accord was signed between the Underground Mizo National Front and the Govt, of India under the leadership of Shri Rajiv Gandhi, Prime Minister.

Dates of election and period:

  1. First elected to the State Assembly in 1978 and became Opposition Group Leader.
  2. Re-elected in 1979 after Mizoram was under brief spell of President’s Rule and became Leader of Opposition Group again.
  3. Elected in 1984 and became Chief Minister. Resigned voluntarily in August 1986 to pave the way for signing of Mizoram Accord for ushering in lasting peace in Mizoram, but was compelled by Rajiv Gandhi to become Dy. Chief Minister.
  4. Elected again in 1987 and became Leader of Opposition. Govt, led by Laldenga, MNF dissolved after being reduced to minority and imposed President’s Rule.
  5. Elected again in 1989 and became Chief Minister.
  6. Re-elected in 1993 and became Chief Minister.
  7. Elected again in 2003 and became Leader of the Opposition.
  8. Elected again in 2008 and became the Chief Minister for the 4th time.
  9. Re-elected in 2013 and continues as Chief Minister to date.


He has been recipient of a number of Awards including ‘National Citizens Award’ in 1994 from Mother Teresa; and ‘Mother Teresa Lifetime Achievement Award’ in 2009.


Follow the link to download and read “Lal Thanhawla” by David M. Thangliana

Comments are closed.

error: Vote for Congress!